10 Montgomery area players on 1st team

The Alabama Sports Writers Association released the 2021 high school baseball All-State teams Sunday, with 29 players from the Montgomery area receiving recognition. 

Brantley’s Tucker Kilcrease was honored as the hitter of the year in Class 1A.

First-team honorees from the River Region were Wetumpka infielder Kyle Morrison in 6A, Pike Road utility player Clay Slagle in 5A, Brantley pitcher Mark Nichols, infielder Tucker Kilcrease and designated hitter Jack Kennedy in 1A; Macon East outfielder Colby Cox, designated hitter Tanner Moore, Autauga Academy pitcher Noah Ray, infielder Will Traywick and Edgewood catcher Alex Johnson in AISA.  

Autauga Academy players claim their trophy after the AISA class AA state championship in Montgomery, Ala., on Tuesday, May 11, 2021. Autauga defeated Edgewood 2-0 (4-2,5-4) to win the series.

Second-teamers included Prattville’s pitcher Slade Wood, designated hitter Travis Stauter and Jeff Davis outfielder Ta’Marion Bolling in 7A; Lee utility player Dee Bonner in 6A; Elmore Co. infielder Sean Darnell and Pike Road pitcher Lucas Baggett in 5A; St. James pitcher Carson Howard in 4A; Brantley catcher Dalton Daniels and infielder Carson Jones in 1A; Edgewood infielder Undrez Crawford and utility player Mitchell Boyd, Macon East pitcher Matthew Kitchens, catcher Jabe Boroff and Autauga Academy outfielder Josh Palmer in AISA.